SPR-Pages

pagelogo
back
Negative RU in glycan-lectin SPR experim
back
This forum is intended for questions about kinetics, Surface Plasmon Resonance and the instruments related to these techniques.

Negative RU in glycan-lectin SPR experiments

• Miles Dominic
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
1 year 11 months ago #1 by Miles Dominic
Negative RU in glycan-lectin SPR experiments was created by Miles Dominic
Hi all,
I am fairly new to SPR and have been encountering some issues regarding negative response units in experiments where I know from other types of experiments, such as western blotting (and in previous SPR experiments), binding should occur.
I am using a CM5 chip that has been immobilized with anti-IgG Fc mAbs and a Biacore T200.
The ligand that I capture on the chip is a sialic acid binding lectin called CD22 (130 kDa). The analyte that I use as a model glycoprotein is Haptoglobin (100-200 kDa), a highly sialylated serum glycoprotein. 
In the first graph from my first attempt at this experiment we can see that the CD22-Fc capturing is successful, resulting in a delta RU of approximately 1200. However, if we look at the blank substracted (Fc 2-1 minus blanks) response for Haptoglobin in HBS-EP+ buffer, we see that there is a concentration-dependent decrease in RU.

Initially, I thought the buffer might be the issue so I switched to a buffer that is reported to be more suitable for glycan-lectin interactions (TSM-Tween). This initially resulted in 1 experiment with the exact same settings and concentrations where Haptoglobin seemed to bind to CD22-Fc. However, trying to repeat this experiment at ligand RUs in TSM-Tween resulted in negative analyte binding again. As far as I know all the batches of samples were the same and the concentrations were also the same. Does anybody have pointers to fix this issue? 

Regards,
Miles

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Arnoud
  • Visitor
  • Visitor