SPR-Pages

pagelogo
back
Antibody measurements in serum - SPRpage
back
These are the posts of the old forum. It was not possible to transfer the user data, so they are missing in most of the posts. For new questions, go to the general discussions.

Antibody measurements in serum

• OldForum
  • Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
11 years 5 months ago #1 by OldForum
Antibody measurements in serum was created by OldForum
Hi,

I am still pretty new in SPR experiments and want to use it to quantify antibody titers in human serum. I have a couple questions regarding the optimization of the assay (mainly non-specific binding (NSB)) and study design.

I use the Reichert 8500 SPR and use the dextran chip from Reichert. I have immobilized neutravidin to the chip to which I have immobilized a biotinylated polymer.

q1) I understood that for concentration determination it is best to saturate the chip with your ligand. Why should you saturate your chip when for kinetic studies you immobilize less ligand as this enables more precise results?

Because I inject serum (25x diluted in PBS) I have the problem of non-specific binding. Besides non-specific binding I also believe that both IgG and IgM bind specifically to my polymer. So clearly by incubating the serum I am not able to quantify the amount of either IgG or IgM. Therefore I will inject an excess of secondary anti human IgG or IgM antibody to determine the amount bound. I do have monoclonal antibodies from which I will make a standard curve by injecting these monoclonal antibodies. As I will detect the antibodies in serum with a secondary antibody I will also inject secondary antibodies in the standards as follows: inject monoclonal antibody and wait till steady state is reached, then incubate an excess of anti-human IgG or IgM and wait till steady state is reached. The response of the secondary antibody will be used for the standard curve.